Sarabjit Kaur of the BJP is the new mayor of Chandigarh.

Sarabjit Kaur of the BJP is the new mayor of Chandigarh.


  • After one vote was found invalid, Sarabjit Kaur defeats Anju Katyal of the Aam Aadmi Party and becomes the mayor of Chandigarh. In the new MC House, the AAP and the BJP each have 14 councilors. SAD and Congress abstain from voting.
  • The BJP’s Sarabjit Kaur (center) won the Chandigarh mayoral election by a single vote on Saturday. Anju Katyal of the AAP was defeated.

Sarabjit Kaur Dhillon of the Bharatiya Janata Party was elected Chandigarh mayor on Saturday, defeating Anju Katyal of the Aam Aadmi Party by one vote.

In the 35-member House, seven members of the Congress and one member of the Shiromani Akali Dal abstained from voting in the Chandigarh municipal corporation (MC) mayoral election.

Sarabjit Kaur received 14 votes, Katyal received 13, and one vote was deemed invalid. The BJP and the AAP each received 14 votes in the House.

Sarabjit Kaur Dhillon, a ward 6 councilor, is married to Jagtar Singh Dhillon, a previous councilor who lives in Mani Majra. She completed her studies till the second year of her bachelor’s degree. After her husband’s ward was designated for a female candidate, she entered politics.

The AAP won 14 seats, the BJP 12 seats, the Congress eight seats, and the SAD one seat in the December 24 election. Harpreet Kaur Babla, the wife of former Chandigarh Congress vice-president Devinder Babla, has joined the BJP, bringing the total number of BJP votes in the House to 14. Kirron Kher, the city MP, is another vote it has.

AAP councilors began shouting slogans shortly after the results were announced. The outcome is disheartening for the AAP, which in its first election became the largest party in the House yet lost the mayoral contest.

This is the first time in the previous five years that no obvious winner could be projected in a mayoral election.

Even though there were occasional difficulties in a few mayoral elections during the last term of the House, the BJP had a majority of 20 of the 26 seats, and the outcomes were always a given conclusion.

Previous posts – Chandigarh Mayor Election: Mayor of BJP in Chandigarh, despite being the single largest party, a setback to AAP

Get the latest news on Medico topics

Leave a Comment